hoverbees

cooking with kids

Cooking with Ella

This is my very first post on my very first blog. Please be kind. I am sure when I look back at these first posts I will cringe just as I cringed at my first attempts at oil painting.

After a friend suggested we hire someone to teach our daughters to cook in her super new super organized and well equipped kitchen, I decided to give teaching a try myself. I needed more time with my girls and I love cooking.Teaching a cooking class for Lena and Talia and their friend Ella would give me time for both.

We started in January 9th, 2012

Here’s what we’ve tried so far.

Homemade Pretzels, a huge hit.The girls loved every aspect of pretzel making and the results were delicious. We used King Arthur Flour’s Sourdough Pretzel recipe found here http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/sourdough-pretzels-recipe

Empanadas. Great fun to make. I baked them too long. Used  an adaptation of the Cook’s Illustrated  recipe with Masa. Filled them with chicken and at home  I made a zucchini corn filling that was delicious.

Chinese Noodles and Red Bean Buns.  Love!! Some of the buns we filled with jam and some were filled with red beans. The noodles were a hit too with everyone customizing their plate of noodles with their choice of veggies.

Zucchini Pancakes and Blueberry Tarts. Pancakes thumb down. Tarts big hit. I used a sugar cookie dough I had in the freezer and simple blueberry filling (cornstarch and sugar).

Next up: Valentine cookies and Chicken Nuggets

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

